Thelonious Monk - Brilliant Corners LP (Reissue, Limited 180 Gram Blue Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.99

MID 1950S ALBUM FROM LEGENDARY JAZZ PIANIST THELONIOUS MONK. Brilliant Corners was originally recorded in 1956 and was Monk's first recording to feature his own material. His third release for Riverside, the sessions featured a line up that included drummer Max Roach, Sonny Rollins on tenor sax, the bass of Oscar Pettiford, and Ernie Henry on alto sax. The complexity of some of the compositions led to a notoriously quarrelsome recording session. But the results are gripping, commanding your attention from the first chords stabbed out by Monk. Limited edition heavy blue colored vinyl edition featured the original mono recording.



A1 Brilliant Corners

A2 Ba-Lue Bolivar Ba-Lues-Are

B1 Pannonica

B2 I Surrender, Dear

B3 Bemsha Swing




Label: DOL – DOL739HB

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Mono, 180 Gram Blue Vinyl

Country: Europe

Released: 2015

Genre: Jazz

Style: Post Bop