The Book of Lies, by Aleister Crowley

  • Sale
  • Regular price $6.95

2021 Reprint of the 1913 Edition. Full facsimile of the original edition and not reproduced with Optical Recognition Software. The Book of Lies (full title: Which is also Falsely Called BREAKS. The Wanderings or Falsifications of the One Thought of Frater Perdurabo, which Thought is itself Untrue. Liber CCCXXXIII was written by English occultist and teacher Aleister Crowley (using the pen name of Frater Perdurabo) and first published in 1912 or 1913. As Crowley describes it: "This book deals with many matters on all planes of the very highest importance. It is an official publication for Babes of the Abyss, but is recommended even to beginners as highly suggestive." The book consists of 91 chapters, each of which consists of one page of text. The chapters include a question mark, poems, rituals, instructions, and obscure allusions and cryptograms. The subject of each chapter is generally determined by its number and its corresponding Qabalistic meaning. Around 1921, Crowley wrote a short commentary about each chapter, assisting the reader in the Qabalistic interpretation. This commentary is not included in this facsimile of the original edition published by Wieland and Company in 1913.


Publisher ‏ : ‎ Martino Fine Books (March 29, 2021)

Language ‏ : ‎ English

Paperback ‏ : ‎ 122 pages

ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 168422540X

ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1684225408

Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 6.5 ounces

Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6 x 0.29 x 9 inches