Pinegrove - Marigold LP (Limited Edition Yellow Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $26.99

Pinegrove’s new album begins with a breath and ends with a shimmering exhalation. In between is Marigold, an urgent, multivalent meditation—and an expanded take on the blend of alt-country, indie rock, and cerebral humanism that’s inspired the band’s ardent fan community. Marigold marks their Rough Trade Records debut, offering what songwriter Evan Stephens Hall calls a “heart-first” perspective.


Those familiar with Pinegrove will recognize signature elements of the band’s sound: literary yet conversational lyrics, geometrically interlocking guitars, the dynamic shifting shadows of rhythm and structure. But this effort marks the most spacious, bold, and well defined iteration of the project yet


Formed in 2010 by childhood friends Evan and drummer Zack Levine, Pinegrove have released three previous albums — Everything So Far (2015), Cardinal (2016), and Skylight (2018) — to massive critical acclaim, garnering them a widespread and devoted listenership. They’ve described their sound as variously as introspective party music, or energetic music in the folk tradition; in any case they have combined catharsis and inventive structures with irrepressible melodies, resonant lyrics, and emotive twang. Marigold finds the band expanding into the latter, spreading out over varying tempos and swelling pedal steel. But in surprising moments, the album can suddenly unfold into the band’s heaviest, most unbound offerings yet—a cavalier disregard of genre in favour of something honest and unique.



A1 Dotted Line

A2 Spiral

A3 The Alarmist

A4 No Drugs

A5 Moment

A6 Hairpin

B1 Phase

B2 Endless

B3 Alcove

B4 Neighbor

B5 Marigold



Label: Rough Trade – RT0082LPE

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Yellow

Country: US

Released: Jan 17, 2020

Genre: Rock

Style: Indie Rock