GWAR - Scumdogs Of The Universe LP, Grey Marble

  • Sale
  • Regular price $32.99

Scumdogs of the Universe is the second album by satirical shock rock heavy metal band Gwar. The album is their first album on Metal Blade Records and was released on January 8, 1990. To date, it is the band's best-selling album.

As the title implies, it is a concept album about the Scumdogs' (Gwar) reign of terror on planet Earth (the song "Death Pod" explains exactly how they came to Earth to begin with). The production is very refined compared to the independent, rushed first attempt (with each successive album sounding more and more refined). Gwar began to experiment with samples to some degree (e.g. in the song, "Maggots"). The songs are more socially relevant in this album as well. Examples include "Slaughterama" (which involves Gwar killing hippies and nazi-skinheads in a game show-style fashion) and the opening track, "The Salaminizer", in which the first verse was inspired by/based on "Gangsta, Gangsta", a song by the breakthrough rap group N.W.A. Other references include history (Vlad the Impaler) and Lovecraft mythology (Horror of Yig). Most of the album is centered on twisted jokes about insane medical practices and sexual perversion. This album is viewed by many of Gwar's fans (as well as Gwar themselves) as their ultimate masterpiece. Thus the band will play more songs from Scumdogs than any other album ("Sick of You" is the most frequently played song in concert, generally the grand finale).

This is the first Gwar album on which more than two people sing lead (Hell-O had Oderus Urungus and Techno Destructo): "Slaughterama" features Sleazy P. Martini, Sexecutioner sings his namesake song, and the album's CD exclusive closer, "Cool Place To Park," debuts bassist Beefcake the Mighty as a vocalist. All other songs featured Oderus.

Additionally, Danielle Stampe (Slymenstra Hymen), Michael Derks (Balsac the Jaws of Death), Chuck Varga (Sexecutioner), and Brad Roberts (Jizmak Da Gusha) make their debuts on this album.


Remixed and remastered limited edition 180g grey marble pressing.
Distributed in a gatefold sleeve.
Includes digital download of the full album
Some copies included an 11x11 signed print of the album cover.


A1 The Salaminizer 3:33
A2 Maggots 4:05
A3 Sick Of You 3:08
A4 Vlad The Impaler 3:18

B1 Slaughterama 5:02
B2 King Queen 4:50

C1 Horror of Yig 5:19
C2 Love Surgery 4:56
C3 Sexecutioner 4:01

D1 The Years Without Light 3:00
D2 Black and Huge 3:11
D3 Death Pod 3:34
D4 Cool Place to Park 4:04


Label: Slave Pit Records – SP001V
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, Limited Edition, Remastered, Grey Marble
Country: US
Released: Feb 19, 2021