Frank Sinatra - In the Wee Small Hours LP (Reissue, Gatefold Jacket, 180 Gram Vinyl)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $20.99

In the Wee Small Hours is the ninth studio album by American vocalist Frank Sinatra. It was released in April 1955 on Capitol Records and produced by Voyle Gilmore with arrangements by Nelson Riddle. The songs on the album deal with themes such as loneliness, introspection, lost love, failed relationships, depression and night-life. As a result, In the Wee Small Hours is generally regarded as one of the first concept albums. The album's cover artwork reflects these themes and portrays a reflective-looking Sinatra on an eerie and deserted street awash in blue-tinged street lights. Sinatra would successfully continue the "concept" formula with later albums such as Songs for Swingin' Lovers! and Only the Lonely. He had been developing the idea since 1946 with his first album release, The Voice.


The album was a commercial success, reaching number 2 on the US charts where it stayed for 18 weeks, being Sinatra's highest charting album since his 1947 release Songs by Sinatra. As of 2002, it has been certified Gold by the RIAA, selling over 500,000 units. The album was also a critical success, and is listed as the third most acclaimed album of the 50s. Rolling Stone called it the 101st greatest album of all time.



A1 In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning 3:02

A2 Mood Indigo 3:30

A3 Glad To Be Unhappy 2:39

A4 I Get Along Without You Very Well 3:42

A5 Deep In A Dream 2:53

A6 I See Your Face Before Me 3:24

A7 Can't We Be Friends? 2:52

A8 When Your Lover Has Gone 3:10

B1 What Is This Thing Called Love? 2:36

B2 Last Night When We Were Young 3:19

B3 I'll Be Around 2:58

B4 Ill Wind 3:48

B5 It Never Entered My Mind 2:43

B6 Dancing On The Ceiling 3:00

B7 I'll Never Be The Same 3:06

B8 This Love Of Mine 3:37




Label: DOL – DOL942HG

Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono, Reissue, Gatefold, 180g

Country: Europe

Released: Dec 1, 2017

Genre: Jazz, Pop

Style: Swing, Ballad, Vocal