Big Star - Nothing Can Hurt Me Double LP

  • Sale
  • Regular price $24.99

Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me traces the origins and history of the legendary band from the late sixties with lead singer Alex Chilton sky-rocketing to stardom at the age of sixteen with the Box Tops and their #1 hit, the Letter to the serendipitous meeting of Chilton and local Memphis singer-songwriter-guitarist, Chris Bell; through the tumultuous recording of the group's three landmark albums, #1 Record, Radio City and Third/Sister Lovers (Ardent Records); culminating with their implosion due to failed record sales, personal breakdowns and the tragic death of Chris Bell in 1978. This vinyl version features all previously unissued versions of classic Big Star songs. It was mastered from analog source by Larry Nix & John Fry at Nix Mastering, Memphis, TN.



A1 Big Star– O My Soul (Demo, 1973)

A2 Big Star– Give Me Another Chance (Control Room Monitor Mix, 1972)

A3 Big Star– In The Street (Movie Mix, 2012)

A4 Big Star– When My Baby's Beside Me (Alternate Mix, 1972)

A5 Big Star– Studio Banter (1972)

A6 Rock City (4)– Try Again (Movie Mix, 2012)

B1 Big Star– My Life Is Right (Alternate Mix, 1972)

B2 Big Star– The Ballad Of El Goodo (Alternate Mix, 1972)

B3 Big Star– Feel (Alternate Mix, 1972)

B4 Big Star– Don't Lie To Me (Alternate Mix, 1972)

B5 Big Star– Way Out West (Alternate Mix, 1973)

C1 Big Star– Thirteen (Alternate Mix, 1972)

C2 Big Star– You Get What You Deserve (Alternate Mix, 1973)

C3 Big Star– Holocaust (Rough Mix, 1974)

C4 Big Star– Kanga Roo (Rough Mix, 1974)

C5 Big Star– Stroke It Noel (Backward Intro, 1974)

C6 Big Star– Big Black Car (Rough Mix, 1974)

D1 Chris Bell– Better Save Yourself (Movie Mix, 2012)

D2 Chris Bell– I Am The Cosmos (Movie Mix, 2012)

D3 Alex Chilton– All We Ever Got From Them Was Pain (Movie Mix, 2012)

D4 Big Star– September Gurls (Movie Mix, 2012)



Label: Omnivore Recordings – OVLP-61, Omnivore Recordings – 816651013982

Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Compilation

Country: US

Released: Jun 25, 2013

Genre: Rock

Style: Power Pop